Facebook officially announced that the photos deleted by users disappear permanently servers within a maximum of 30 days.
Promise kept apparently. In February 2012, Facebook had undertaken to solve the problem of conservation of pictures when migrating to a new storage system. This is the voice of a spokesperson, Frederic Wolens, the social network announced that it’s done: “ By working on our policy and infrastructure, we have established a maximum period of 30 days ( for deleting files) on our content distribution networks “ , then he adds “The 30-day period applies only to images cached on the servers . “
The right to oblivion
There are just 3 years Ars Technica had raised the issue of deleted photos by members but still retained by the Facebook servers and thus always available for a direct link. Today Frederic Wolens sure the photos will stay less time in hiding and will be permanently deleted. Recall that the number one social network is in its second first attempt on that promise. Apparently, this time it is effective!